JIM MARSHALL, MEMBER 14TH Legislative District

P.O. Box 202014 Harrisburg, PA 17120-2014 Phone: (717) 260-6432 Fax: (717) 782-2918

2811 Darlington Road, Suite 1 Beaver Falls, PA 15010 Phone: (724) 847-1352 Fax: (724) 847-5283



House of Representatives

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Harrisburg

February 23, 2023

Committees

Consumer Affairs Chairman Transportation

E-mail: jmarshal@pahousegop.com Website: www.RepMarshall.com

The Honorable Josh Shapiro Governor of Pennsylvania 225 Main Capitol Harrisburg, PA 17120

Dear Governor Shapiro:

As you are well aware, on Friday, February 3rd, 2023, a Norfolk Southern train containing hazardous material derailed in East Palestine, Ohio less than a mile from the Pennsylvania border. Although the evacuation and shelter in place orders affecting the immediate areas, including 22 homes in Beaver County, were lifted on Wednesday, February 8th, we share in the many environmental, health, and safety concerns our constituents still have.

As legislators, we implore you, to work with our federal partners and Norfolk Southern to resolve our concerns. We understand this may take time as both the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) continue their investigations and ongoing tests into the residual effects and causes of the derailment. Additionally, we recognize there may be litigation which may prolong the release of their findings.

As members of the House of Representatives, please know you will have our full cooperation and assistance throughout the entire process. In addition, we respectfully request that you share your findings and analysis of this incident with the House as soon as possible, and welcome meetings to discuss further actions or potential solutions. Lastly, if legislative action is necessary, please know that we will continue to collaborate with your departments and our federal partners to protect those we were elected to serve.

Sincerely,

Rep. Jim Marshall

Chair, Consumer Affairs Committee

in Markell

14th Legislative District

Rep. Martin T. Causer

Chair, Environmental Resources and Energy Committee

67th Legislative District

Rep. Kerry A. Benninghoff Chair, Transportation Committee

mark m. Hillen

171st Legislative District

Rep. Mark M. Gillen

Chair, Veterans Affairs and Emergency

Preparedness Committee 128th Legislative District

Letter to Shapiro: Norfolk Southern Train Derailment February 23, 2023 Page 2 of 6

Rep. Bryan Cutler Republican Caucus Leader

100th Legislative District

Rep. George Dunbar Republican Caucus Chair 56th Legislative District

Rep. Sheryl M. Delozier Republican Caucus Administrator 88th Legislative District

Rep. Dan Moul Chair, Agriculture and Rural Affairs Committee 91st Legislative District

Rep. David M. Maloney
Chair, Game and Fisheries Committee
130th Legislative District

Rep. Doyle M. Heffley
Chair, Human Services Committee
122nd Legislative District

Rep. Ryan Mackenzie Chair, Labor and Industry Committee 187th Legislative District Rep. Timothy O'Neal Republican Caucus Whip 48th Legislative District

In ohat

Rep. Martina A. White Republican Caucus Secretary 170th Legislative District

Martina a. White

Rep. Joshua D. Kail Chair, Republican Policy Committee 15th Legislative District

ats A. Blunk

Rep. Kate A. Klunk Chair, Ethics Committee 169th Legislative District

Rep. Aaron D. Kaufer Chair, Government Oversight Committee 120th Legislative District

Rep. Rob Kauffman **VU**Chair, Judiciary Committee
89th Legislative District

Rep. Mindy Fee Chair, Liquor Control Committee 37th Legislative District Letter to Shapiro: Norfolk Southern Train Derailment February 23, 2023 Page 3 of 6

Rep. R. Lee James

Rep. R. Lee James Chair, Local Government Committee 64th Legislative District

Tarke Went

Donna Helander

Rep. Donna Oberlander Chair, Tourism and Recreational Development Committee 63rd Legislative District

Rep. Parke Wentling 7th Legislative District

Rep. Marla A. Brown 9th Legislative District

Rep. Stephenie Scialabba 12th Legislative District/

Rep. Kathleen C. Tomlinson 18th Legislative District

Rep. Natalie Mihalek 40th Legislative District

Rep. Valerie S. Gaydos 44th Legislative District

full that

Rep. Carl Walker Metzgar Chair, Professional Licensure Committee 69th Legislative District

Rep. Jacob D. Banta 4th Legislative District

Rep. Aaron J. Bernstine

8th Legislative District

Marci Mustella

Rep. Marci Mustello 11th Legislative District

Rep. Timothy Bonner 17th Legislative District

Rep. Robert W. Mercuri

Rep. Robert W. Mercuri 28th Legislative District

Rep. Brett R. Miller 41st Legislative District

Rep. Jason Ortitay 46th Legislative District Letter to Shapiro: Norfolk Southern Train Derailment February 23, 2023 Page 4 of 6

John Joseph D'Orai

Rep. Joseph D'Orsie 47th Legislative District

Charity Dumm Kupa

Rep. Charity Grimm Krupa 51st Legislative District

Rep. Jill N. Cooper 55th Legislative District

Rep. Eric Davanzo 58th Legislative District

Rep. Brian Smith 66th Legislative District

Rep. James Rigby 71st Legislative District

Rep. Stephanie Borowicz 76th Legislative District

Rep. James V. Gregory 80th Legislative District BA Cook

Rep. Bud Cook 50th Legislative District

Rep. Ryan Warner 52nd Legislative District

Rep. Eric Nelson 58th Legislative District

Rep. Abby Major 60th Legislative District

Rep. Clint Owlett 68th Legislative District

Rep. Mike Armanini 75th Legislative District

Rep. Louis Schmitt, Jr. 79th Legislative District

Rep. Jamie L. Flick 83rd Legislative District Letter to Shapiro: Norfolk Southern Train Derailment February 23, 2023

Page 5 of 6

Rep. Joseph D. Hamm 84th Legislative District

Rep. Thomas H. Kutz 87th Legislative District

Rep. Dawn Keefer 92nd Legislative District

Rep. Thomas M. Jones 98th Legislative District

Rep. John Schlegel
101st Legislative District

Rep. Dane J. Watro

Rep. Dane J. Watro 116th Legislative District

Rep. Tim Twardzik 123rd Legislative District

Rep. Milou Mackenzie 131st Legislative District Rep Perry A. Stambaugh

Rep. Perry A. Stambaugh 86th Legislative District

Rep. Paul Schemel 90th Legislative District

Rep. Mike Jones 93rd Legislative District

Rep. David Zimmerman 99th Legislative District

Rep. Joanne Stehr 107th Legislative District

Rep. Michael Cabell 117th Legislative District

Rep. James A. Barton 124th Legislative District

Rep. Ann L. Flood 138th Legislative District Letter to Shapiro: Norfolk Southern Train Derailment

February 23, 2023

Page 6 of 6

Rep. Joseph W. Adams 139th Legislative District

Rep. Craig T. Staats 145th Legislative District

Rep. Zachary A. Mako 183rd Legislative District

July a. Maho

Rep. Joe Hogan 142nd Legislative District

Rep. Donna M. Scheuren 147th Legislative District

Barbara Gleim

Rep. Barbara Gleim 199th Legislative District

Mike Vereb, Secretary of Legislative Affairs cc: Mike Carroll, Acting Secretary of Transportation Richard Negrin, Acting Secretary of DEP David Padfield, Director of PEMA Gladys Brown Dutrieuille, Chair - PUC